Connect with us


FA Youth Cup: Full list of winners and best teams to win FA Youth Cups



FA Youth Cup Full list of winners and best teams to win FA Youth Cups

The FA Youth Cup is England’s most esteemed youth football competition, serving as a stage for the stars of tomorrow to sparkle. Time Bulletin looks at past winners of the lofty youth trophy of the Under-18 cup competition, as well as the best teams.

Established in 1952, likes of George Best, Paul Gascoigne, and David Beckham have graced its games, with a lot more high-profile players proceeding to forge respectable professional careers for themselves.

FA Youth Cup: Full list of winners

1952-53Manchester United9-3Wolves
1953-54Manchester United5-4Wolves
1954-55Manchester United7-1West Brom
1955-56Manchester United4-3Chesterfield
1956-57Manchester United8-2West Ham
1958-59Blackburn Rovers2-1West Ham
1961-62Newcastle United2-1Wolves
1962-63West Ham6-5Liverpool
1963-64Manchester United5-2Swindon Town
1966-67Sunderland2-0Birmingham City
1967-68Burnley3-2Coventry City
1968-69Sunderland6-3West Brom
1969-70Tottenham1-1 / 2-2 / 1-0Coventry City
1970-71Arsenal2-0Cardiff City
1971-72Aston Villa5-2Liverpool
1972-73Ipswich Town4-1Bristol City
1973-74Tottenham2-1Huddersfield Town
1974-75Ipswich Town5-1West Ham
1975-76West Brom5-0Wolves
1976-77Crystal Palace1-0Everton
1977-78Crystal Palace1-0Aston Villa
1978-79Millwall2-0Manchester City
1979-80Aston Villa3-2Manchester City
1980-81West Ham2-1Tottenham
1981-82Watford7-6Manchester United
1982-83Norwich City6-5Everton
1983-84Everton4-2Stoke City
1984-85Newcastle United4-1Watford
1985-86Manchester City3-1Manchester United
1986-87Coventry City2-1Charlton Athletic
1987-88Arsenal6-1Doncaster Rovers
1988-89Watford2-1Manchester City
1990-91Millwall3-0Sheffield Wednesday
1991-92Manchester United6-3Crystal Palace
1992-93Leeds United4-1Manchester United
1994-95Manchester United2-2 (4-3P)Tottenham
1995-96Liverpool4-1West Ham
1996-97Leeds United3-1Crystal Palace
1997-98Everton5-3Blackburn Rovers
1998-99West Ham9-0Coventry City
1999-00Arsenal5-1Coventry City
2000-01Arsenal6-3Blackburn Rovers
2001-02Aston Villa4-2Everton
2002-03Manchester United3-1Middlesbrough
2003-04Middlesbrough4-0Aston Villa
2004-05Ipswich Town3-2Southampton
2005-06Liverpool3-2Manchester City
2006-07Liverpool2-2 (4-3P)Manchester United
2007-08Manchester City4-2Chelsea
2009-10Chelsea3-2Aston Villa
2010-11Manchester United6-3Sheffield United
2011-12Chelsea4-1Blackburn Rovers
2012-13Norwich City4-2Chelsea
2014-15Chelsea5-2Manchester City
2015-16Chelsea4-2Manchester City
2016-17Chelsea6-2Manchester City
2018-19Liverpool1-1 (5-3P)Manchester City
2019-20Manchester City3-2Chelsea
2020-21Aston Villa2-1Liverpool
2021-22Manchester United3-1Nottingham Forest

*Note: Before 2018-19, finals were played more than two legs, so the aggregate score is listed

Manchester United were a dominant force when the FA Youth Cup was first launched during the 1950s, winning the initial five trophies, however, the Red Devils didn’t appreciate a lot of success again in the competition until the 1990s on.

Broadly, Manchester United’s 1991-92 FA Youth Cup-winning team included David Beckham, Gary Neville, Ryan Giggs, and Nicky Butt, who might proceed to become easily recognized names.

Jack Wilshere highlighted for Arsenal and Paul Pogba delighted in triumph with Manchester United while, all the more recently, Conor Gallagher was among the individuals who has tasted success with Chelsea.

As well as Man Utd, the likes of Chelsea, Manchester City, Aston Villa, Liverpool, and West Ham have been steady fixtures in the FA Youth Cup finals.

Who has won the most FA Youth Cups?

TeamWinsWinning years
Manchester United111953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1964, 1992, 1995, 2003, 2011, 2022
Chelsea91960, 1961, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
Arsenal71966, 1971, 1988, 1994, 2000, 2001, 2009
Liverpool41996, 2006, 2007, 2019
Aston Villa41972, 1980, 2002, 2021
Manchester City31986, 2008, 2020
West Ham31963, 1981, 1999
Everton31965, 1984, 1998
Tottenham31970, 1974, 1990
Ipswich Town31973, 1975, 2005
Crystal Palace21977, 1978
Sunderland21967, 1969
Millwall21979, 1991
Watford21982, 1989
Newcastle United21962, 1985
Norwich City21983, 2013
Leeds United21993, 1997
Coventry City11987
Blackburn Rovers11959
West Brom11976

Manchester United are the best team in the history of the FA Youth Cup. As of the start of the 2021-22 season, the Red Devils had won the competition 10 times.

Chelsea are not a long way behind their northern adversaries with nine titles thanks to a period of dominance during the 2010s, which saw them show up in six successive finals and win five times in succession.

Arsenal have appreciated predictable levels of success in the competition, while Liverpool and Aston Villa’s youth teams have a long practice as well. Man City have showed up in 11 finals, yet they have suffered defeat in eight of those.

Continue Reading
follow us on google news banner black


Recent Posts


error: Content is protected !!