Connect with us


2022 Petronas Malaysia Open: Schedule, Fixtures, Top Seed, Defending Champions, Prize Money, and More



2022 Petronas Malaysia Open

After the Indonesia leg of the BWF Tour reached a conclusion last week with the Indonesia Masters and Indonesia Open, the activity presently moves to Malaysia with the Malaysia Open. 2022 Malaysia Open is a Badminton tournament that will be held for the current year by the name of Petronas Malaysia Open 2022. The BWF Super 750 tournament will kickstart on 28th June and is set to feature top players across the world. The tournament is, at last, making its return following a two-year break because of Covid-19.

The Malaysia Open 2022 is scheduled to be held at Axiata Arena in Bukit Jalil, from June 28 to July 3. The tournament has a rich history as it has been held beginning around 1937. This year, it will be the 12th edition of the BWF Super 750 tournament.

Malaysia Open 2022 will be one of the significant badminton competitions to be played at the Axiata Arena, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The tournament is set to begin on 28 June 2022 and will finish on 3 July 2022. For Sponsorships reasons, this tournament will be viewed as Petronas Malaysia open 2022. This will be the 12th tournament of the 2022 BWF World Tour.

BWF World Tour this year will be the 5th season of the every year international badminton competition contested by IOC, International Olympic Committee. All matches will be contested in Malaysia itself wherein the level of the game is Super 750. This tournament is making its return following a time of two years, as a result of the pandemic circumstance. PETRONAS Malaysia Open 2022 Schedule, Dates, Venues, Prize Money, and Champions, And Tournaments All You Need To Know

Top Indian shuttlers PV Sindhu, Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikanth, Saina Nehwal, and HS Prannoy among others will contend in the BWF World Tour event. India would expect to shrug off their disappointing Indonesia Open campaign last week, which saw just HS Pranoy coming to the semi-last stage while every other person faltered in the beginning stages of the competition.

World No.9 Lakshya is the main seeded player from India. The 20-year-old All England Open medalist is the 8th seed. He is set in the second from the last quarter of the draw that additionally has World No.3, Anders Antonsen, in it. Lakshya will face South Korea’s Heo Kwang-hee in the main round of the competition. In the meantime, World No.11 Srikanth is unseeded and will take on Thailand’s Sitthikom Thammasin in the initial round. Prannoy, who is in very great form, having arrived at the last-4 stage of the Indonesia Open, is set in the 4th quarter alongside Sameer Verma.

When is the 2022 Petronas Malaysia Open Badminton championship?

The 2022 Malaysia Open will begin on June 28 and end on July 3.

Malaysia Open 2022 Schedule

1st round– June 28,29
2nd round– June 30
Quarter-final– July 1
Semi-final– July 2
Final – July 3

Men’s Singles Round 1 Schedule

  • Viktor Axelsen vs Kanta Tsuneyama
  • LeeCheuk vs Loh Kean Yew
  • Anthony Ginting vs Sai Praneeth
  • Kidambi Srikanth vs Sitthikom Thammasin
  • Chou Tien Chen vs Brian Yang
  • Liew Daren vs HS Prannoy
  • Jonatan Christie vs Sameer Verma
  • Tommy Sugiarto vs Kenta Nishimoto
  • Zhao Juan Peng vs Kunlavut Vitidsarn
  • Heo Kwang Hee vs Lakshya Sen
  • Wang Tzu Wei vs Kevin Cordon
  • Lu Guang Zu vs Anders Antonsen
  • Rasmus Gemke vs Shesar Hiren Rhustavito
  • Toma Junior Popov vs Lee Xii Jia
  • NG Ka Long Angus vs Mark Caljouw
  • Kantaphon Wangcharoen vs Kento Momota

Women’s Singles Round 1 Schedule

  • Akane Yamaguchi vs Gregoria Mariska Tunjung
  • He Bing Jiao vs Wang Zhi Yi
  • Carolina Marin vs Qi Xuefei
  • Sayaka Takahashi vs Line Kjaersfeldt
  • An Se Young vs Yeo Jia Min
  • Line Christophersen vs Han Yue
  • Ratchanok Intanon vs Sim Yu Jin
  • Julie Dawall Jakobsen vs Beiwen Zhang
  • Saina Nehwal vs Iris Wang
  • Yvonne Li vs Nozomi Okuhara
  • Kim Ga Eun vs Busanan Ongbamrungphan
  • Zhang Yi Man vs Chen Yu Fei
  • Phittayaporn Chaiwan vs Fitriani
  • Pornpawee Chochuwong vs PV Sindhu
  • Michelle Li vs Supanida Katethong
  • Lianne Tange vs Tai Tzu Ying

Where to watch Malaysia Open 2022?

Badminton fans in India can watch live action on Voot Select and furthermore at BWF’s official Youtube channel BWF TV.

Defending champions (Winners of 2019 edition)

  • Men’s singles – Lin Dan – China
  • Women’s singles – Tai Tzu Ying – Chinese Taipei
  • Men’s doubles – Li Junhui – Liu Yuchen – China
  • Women’s doubles – Chen Qingchen – Jia Yifan – China
  • Mixed doubles – Zheng Siwei – Huang Yaqiong – China

Malaysia Open 2022 Top Seeds

Men’s Singles:

  1. India – Viktor Axelsen
  2. Japan – Kento Momota
  3. Denmark – Anders Antonsen
  4. Chinese Taipei – Chou Tien-chen
  5. Malaysia – Lee Zii Jia
  6. Indonesia – Anthony Sinisuka Ginting
  7. Indonesia – Jonatan Christie
  8. India – Lakshya Sen

Women’s Singles

  1. Japan – Akane Yamaguchi
  2. Chinese Taipei – Tai Tzu-ying
  3. South Korea – An Se-young
  4. China – Chen Yufei
  5. Spain – Carolina Marin
  6. Japan – Nozomi Okuhara
  7. India – PV Sindhu
  8. Thailand – Ratchanok Intanon

Men’s Doubles

  1. Indonesia – Marcus Gideon / Kevin Sukamuljo
  2. Japan – Takuro Hoki / Yugo Kobayashi
  3. Indonesia – Mohammad Ahsan / Hendra Setiawan
  4. Chinese Taipei – Lee Yang / Wang Chi-lin
  5. Malaysia – Aaron Chia / Soh Wooi Yik
  6. Indonesia – Fajar Alfian / Muhammad Ardianto
  7. India – Satwiksairaj Rankireddy / Chirag Shetty
  8. Denmark – Kim Astrup / Anders Rasmussen

Women’s Doubles

  1. China – Chen Qingchen / Jia Yifan
  2. South Korea – Lee So-hee / Shin Seung-chan
  3. South Korea –Kim So-yeong / Kong Hee-yong
  4. Japan – Yuki Fukushima / Sayaka Hirota
  5. Japan – Mayu Matsumoto / Wakana Nagahara
  6. Japan – Nami Matsuyama / Chiharu Shida
  7. Thailand – Jongkolpham Kititharakul / Rawinda Prajongjai
  8. Hungary – Gabriela Stoeva / Stefani Stoeva

Malaysia Open 2022 Prize Money

EventWinnerFinalistSemi-finalsQuarter-finalsLast 16Last 32
follow us on google news banner black


Recent Posts


error: Content is protected !!