Connect with us


Wadden Sea: Google Doodle is celebrating one of the UNESCO World Heritage Site



Celebrating the Wadden Sea

Google animated Doodle celebrates the Wadden Sea, the largest unbroken system of intertidal sand and mud flats in the world listed by UNESCO as World Heritage Site, on June 30, 2021.

The Wadden Sea is the biggest tidal flats framework in the world, where natural cycles continue to a great extent undisturbed. It reaches out along the coasts of Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands.

The Wadden Sea is an intertidal zone in the southeastern part of the North Sea. It lies between the coasts of northwestern continental Europe and the range of low-lying Frisian Islands, shaping a shallow body of water with tidal flats and wetlands.

In different languages the Wadden Sea is referred as Waddenzee in Dutch; Wattenmeer in German; Wattensee or Waddenzee in low German; Vadehavet in Danish; Waadsee in west Frisian; di Heef in north Frisian.

The site covers the Dutch Wadden Sea Conservation Area, the German Wadden Sea National Parks of Lower Saxony and Schleswig-Holstein, and a large portion of the Danish Wadden Sea maritime conservation area.

The Wadden Sea is a large, temperate, relatively flat coastal wetland environment, formed by the mind boggling collaborations among physical and biological factors that have led to a large number of multitude of transitional habitats with tidal channels, sandy shoals, sea-grass meadows, mussel beds, sandbars, mudflats, salt marshes, estuaries, beaches and dunes.

The region is home to various plant and creature species, including marine mammals, for example, the harbour seal, grey seal and harbour porpoise.

The Wadden Sea is one of the last remaining large-scale, intertidal ecosystems where natural cycles keep on working generally undisturbed.

Wadden Sea, Dutch Waddenzee, German Wattenmeer, Danish Vadehavet, shallow delta of the North Sea between the West Frisian Islands and the northern Netherlands territory.

Made by storms during the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, the Wadden Sea is a somewhat youthful wetland environment that includes one of the world’s final undisturbed intertidal environments. This radiant stretch of ocean and sand houses various plant and creature species, including the grey seal and harbor porpoise.

The Wadden Sea has a high biological diversity and is a significant region for both breeding and migrating birds. Considered one of the most basic regions globally for migratory birds, it’s assessed that the wetlands are visited by more than 10 million African-Eurasian birds yearly and can hold onto up to 6.1 million birds at once!

The Wadden Sea isn’t only an pristine habitat for wildlife—famous ways human guests appreciate the view incorporate investigating the mudflats at low tide or visiting the boundary islands by boat. Nonetheless, tourists must respect the site’s fundamental role in maintaining global biodiversity.

Current conservation efforts are grounded in an essential organization between UNESCO, ecological NGOs, the Wadden Sea Forum, and the governments of Denmark, Germany, and the Netherlands with the goal that future generations can appreciate this natural phenomenon.

In 2009, UNESCO assigned the largest Wadden Sea tidal flat region—which incorporates the Wadden Sea area as well as two national parks in Germany—a World Heritage site.

For its globally unique geological and ecological values the Wadden Sea is listed by UNESCO as World Heritage. No place else in the world is there a particularly unique landscape with a large number of habitats, molded by wind and tides. Global biodiversity is dependent on the Wadden Sea.

In the system of the Trilateral Wadden Sea Cooperation, Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands take on the responsibility of protecting this irreplaceable ecosystem to support present and future generations.

On June 30, 2021, Google is showing up an animated Doodle on its homepage for celebrating the Wadden Sea, the world’s biggest network of intertidal sand and mudflats, which traverses the coastlines of the Netherlands, Germany, and Denmark.

On this day in 2009, UNESCO assigned the Wadden Sea a World Heritage Site in acknowledgment of its unparalleled ecological and geological significance and the decades of effort dedicated to its preservation.

In 2009, the Dutch and German parts of the Wadden Sea were engraved on UNESCO’s World Heritage List and the Danish part was included June 2014.

follow us on google news banner black


Recent Posts


error: Content is protected !!