Connect with us

Festivals & Events

Google Doodle denotes the beginning of ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022




The present Google Doodle denotes the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 that officially gets in progress in New Zealand on Friday, March 4. The 12th edition of the Women’s ODI World Cup will begin at 6:30 am IST with the host country New Zealand taking on West Indies at the Bay Oval. The twelfth version of the Women’s World Cup will be played in New Zealand from March 4 (today) to April 3 with 8 teams battling for the top prize.

Google denoted the start of ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup with an animated doodle. The doodle highlights six female players playing the game within the sight of spectators.

On the off chance that you go to the Google home page and search for Women’s Cricket World Cup, you will see cricket balls on your screen moving from left to right. You can tap on confetti popper at the bottom of the Google page to see it once more.

Assuming you look for the Women’s Cricket World Cup on Google, it will redirect you to a page with news about the competition and you will see cricket balls moving from left to right on your screen.

The world’s first international cricket match occurred in 1844 between Canada and the United States. The first women’s World Cup competition was held in 1973, likewise won by the current year’s defending champions, England. This year, eight teams from around the world will seek competition victory.

An aggregate of eight teams is competing this season. New Zealand qualified by virtue of being the hosts, while Australia, India, England, and South Africa booked their slots by completing among the top five teams in the Women’s Championship, held somewhere in the range of 2017 and 2021. The other three teams were decided by the ICC ODI rankings of the teams, henceforth Pakistan, West Indies, and Bangladesh made it through.

There are a total of 31 matches in this competition and six venues will play host. University Oval in Dunedin, Eden Park in Auckland, Hagley Oval in Christchurch, Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui, Seddon Park in Hamilton, and the Basin Reserve in Wellington. While the semi-finals will be played in Wellington, Hagley Oval in Christchurch will host the final.

ICC has guaranteed that they have discarded the requirement for severe biosecure bubbles and daily Covid-19 tests. Covid-19 testing will be rare, yet it won’t be held daily. The competition will be held in a “managed environment”.

In the opening matches of the competition, venues are permitted to be loaded up with 10% of the capacity. Nonetheless, the organizers are trusting that the limit will be expanded as the tournament progresses.

Everyone’s eyes will be on Indian captain Mithali Raj who is set to become the first player to highlight in six editions of the Women’s World Cup. Additionally, Mithali who has scored 1139 runs, is 362 runs from Debbie Hockley’s record for most runs in world cups. She is likewise three matches short of becoming the captain who leads the side in most World Cup games.

Another record Indians are expecting is for Jhulan Goswami. The bowler is as of now on 36 wickets and necessities to scalp four additional to become the leading wicket-taker in Women’s World Cup history. Notably, Raj and Jhulan are playing their last World Cup.

The World Cup will see a total of eight teams fight it out over 29 days. The 8 teams who are part of ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 are India, Pakistan, Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand, South Africa England, and West Indies. The competition will last till April 3.

India will play New Zealand on March 10, West Indies on March 12, Australia on March 19, Bangladesh on March 22, and South Africa on March 27. The competition, which will include 31 matches, had been postponed by a year as a result of the Covid pandemic.

Defending champions England will open their campaign against the best side in Australia on March 5 while West Indies and has New Zealand will start their campaign in Mount Maunganui in the opening match of the showpiece event.

The Women’s World Cup was at first scheduled to happen last year however it was delayed to 2022 because of Covid-19 worries.

ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 Timing

Women’s World Cup 2022 matches will be played at 03:30 am and 06:30 am IST.

The first match of the Indian team in Women’s World Cup 2022 will be played against Pakistan on Sunday, 06 March 2022.

Cricket fans in India can watch the Women’s World Cup matches live on TV channels of Star Sorts Network and Disney+ Hotstar.

ICC Women’s World Cup 2022 will be played in a round-robin format. Every one of the 8 teams will confront each other once during the competition. The top four teams in the points table after the league stage will clash in the semi-final. The winners of the semis will crash in the final.

The competition will be hosted in six cities — Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Hamilton, Tauranga, and Wellington. The competition opener will be played at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui, Tauranga on Friday, March 4. The final will be played at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch on April 3.


Recent Posts


error: Content is protected !!